Diggin' Up Roots




Diggin' Up Roots
- The second Messenger CD was recorded in February 2001. Again it was recorded at Bob Vogler's Studio 1 in Mr. Airy, NC on a mild winter day. The Title "Diggin Up Roots" came from the photo for the cover. Outside Studio 1, against a brick wall were rakes, a shovel, and a wheelbarrow that were used as props in the photo. "Roots" is also a slang for traditional music. Eventually Maggie ended up in the wheelbarrow, which is the shot used for the cover.

The second album was also done "live" in two hours. Mark Arrowood (banjo) was featured on some of the 12 selections recorded and mixed for the CD. The album also featured "Go Long Mule", which is an original song by Richard Matteson based on traditional lyrics found by Matteson when doing folk research. Tony Poindexter designed the CD cover.

Diggin' Up Roots:

  1. Hallelujah I'm Ready
  2. One Hundred Miles
  3. Go Long Mule 
  4. Battle of New Orleans
  5. Buck's Stumble
  6. Wildwood Flower
  7. When God Dips His Pen
  8. Amazing Grace
  9. Salty Dog
  10. Frankie and Johnny
  11. I'll Fly Away
  12. Woke Up this Morning