Bluegrass Boogie

Bluegrass Boogie

Bluegrass Boogie was recorded at Michael Barber's Studio in Lexington, NC in Feb. 2003. The CD features two original compositions by Richard Matteson Fishing Bound and Bluegrass Boogie, and includes several new performers in the Messengers line-up: Josh Burchem –Mandolin and Vocal on "John Hardy;" Debbie Gitlan- Fiddle; Lisa Parrish- vocals; Kristina Powell- vocals and Justin Swaim- Banjo. Kevin Crooks, who is the regular bass player for the Messengers did not play bass on the CD, Richard Matteson did.

The CD which is more fast paced and driving than the early CD's is powered by the fiddle playing of Debbie Gitlan, a regular on the bluegrass festival circuit. Some of the breakdowns include Foggy Mountain Breakdown, Jerusalem Ridge, Salt Creek, John Hardy, Little Maggie, Bile Dem Cabbage Down, and Dogget’s Gap.

The CD opens with a Messenger favorite Hallelujah I’m Ready, and also features two jazz standards Maple Leaf Rag and Alabama Jubilee.

Bluegrass Boogie:

  1. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  2. Hallelujah I’m Ready
  3. *Bluegrass Boogie
  4. Jerusalem Ridge
  5. Salt Creek
  6. *Fishing Bound
  7. Bile Dem Cabbage Down
  8. John Hardy
  9. Dogget’s Gap
  10. Alabama Jubilee
  11. Little Maggie
  12. Maple Leaf Rag

    Richard L. Matteson Jr.- Guitars, Slide, Bass, Lead & Back-up Vocals
    Mark Arrowood- Banjo
    Kristina Powell- Vocals
    Debbie Gitlan- Fiddle
    Josh Burchem –Mandolin, Vocal on “John Hardy”
    Rhonda Ladd- Back-up vocals
    Alan Kirby- Banjo
    Lisa Parrish- Back-up vocals
    Kevin Crooks–Bass
    Justin Swaim- Banjo